Junky.

In a desperate attempt to get some food in my stomach after more than 12 hours of not eating, I scarfed some cheese pizza and had a soda this afternoon.  Later, I had a cupcake and a Coke.  For dinner, I tried to redeem myself with a large salad (romaine with black lentils, feta and artichoke hearts dressed with some olive oil and lemon juice), but the damage was done.

Tonight, I went for a short (40 minute) training run.  I’m just starting marathon training and I seriously felt like crap today.  For starters I had NO motivation, no energy to run until late in the day and I had to guilt trip myself into putting my running shoes on.  Then, I didn’t quite get in three miles (my goal; I managed 2.77) and it felt like it took me forever just to get there.

Lesson learned: you are what you eat. I ate a bunch of crap today, I felt like crap today. I know it’s a holiday and tomorrow will be better, but oy . . . My body is craving some serious ruffage now.

In spite of my sluggish running, I also got in three 10-minute segments of Core Fusion Pure Arms & Abs before giving up and resigning myself to a better tomorrow.  I’m sure I smell amazing.

Post workout snack: plain Greek yogurt with fresh blueberries, a handful of rolled oats and a drizzle of honey. Delish!

Leave a Reply

