Fake it ’til you make it.

Sometimes, you just gotta fake it. Really, really fake it. I fake happy, fake organized, fake ‘together’ until my everyday actions follow suit.

Today, I faked being energized at work. Granted, I needed a bit of caffeine to get me going (and to pick me up again around 1:30), but I didn’t sleep well last night, so I was happy to pretend like I had.

I faked wanting to run. I didn’t really want to run, but I read Caitlin’s recap of running 20 miles and I thought to myself, “I really have no excuse.” So I laced up my shoes and cranked out 4.93 miles in one hour. A 12:10/mile pace, but I’m happy with that. I know I’ll get better (if I can get down to 10:45/mile by October, I’ll be so thrilled).

Anyway . . . I faked it. I faked the enthusiasm for the run, decided on my running plan and just did it. And it was great. I feel incredibly accomplished, even if it is a much shorter run in the grand scheme of marathon training.

I faked it, I made it. And you can too. šŸ™‚

One response to “Fake it ’til you make it.

  1. I have plenty of these days. I’ve found that when I fake it to make it, my faking turned into the real thing. Weird, I know!

Leave a Reply

