Challenges

Well, I may have fallen off the deep end, but I’ve decided to take on a 30 Day Shred Challenge! For anyone unfamiliar with Jillian Michaels’ fitness prowess, she pretty much kicks butt on The Biggest Loser challenging and pushing people past their perceived limits to really get them to a new level of fitness.

Anyway, she’s something of an inspiration to me. I’ve owned a copy of 30 Day Shred for a little over a year, but haven’t really ever committed to it. So here I am now . . . getting ready to commit to it.

Today, I ran 3 miles in 38 minutes — lost some time to frequent stops to adjust the bandaid covering the back of my ankle — and popped the DVD in afterwards. This is going to be an interesting challenge, to say the least. I took measurements and weighed myself yesterday, so I hope taking on this 30 Day Shred Challenge (on top of marathon training, mind you) will help me accelerate the rate at which I’m slimming down.

I didn’t just sign up for the marathon to shed a few pounds and I’m not doing the 30 Day Shred just for that. When I ran my first marathon, I really struggled with running consistently and I almost never strength trained. With the interval training of the DVD and a more resolved attitude to stick with my running schedule, I have hope that I’ll be able to cross the finish line (and lose a few pesky pounds in the process).

Another challenge . . . I got a flat tire today. Majorly flat. My poor little VW had been trying to tell me for a couple of days that the pressure was getting low (via the ‘low pressure’ light on the dash – go figure), but I resolved to take care of it this weekend when I had some time. As I left my apartment today to run an errand, I noticed a squeaking sound as I was pulling out of the carport. After I pulled over, my suspicions were confirmed. My right front tire was flat as a pancake.

Of course, I had a spare tire (and not a little donut either!), lugwrench and the know-how, but no jack! How does a 2007 car not come with a jack?! To add to my shopping list, to be sure . . . Anyway, a dear, sweet friend came to my rescue bringing a tire jack and some muscle to help get the lug nuts off. Seriously owe that boy a beer . . . or four.

Anyway . . . off to bed am I. Professional headshots at work tomorrow, but I don’t think I’m going to be getting the beauty sleep I really need. Oh well.

What about you? Any challenges you’re taking on this week?

3 responses to “Challenges

  1. Omg, I hate 30 Day Shred. She’s like “and if it’s too tough for you, look at this girl and she’ll show you the easy way” and that girl is wearing hotpants and a bra and weighs like a pound.
    In all seriousness though, that video does kick your ass. Have you tried P90X? It’s also a really good one.

  2. Pingback: Day 2: 30DS; No running « well purposed: health, happiness, life

  3. Ashley Sickles

    Good luck with the 30 Day Shred! I’ve done that workout several times and it is intense!!

Leave a Reply

