On my bad days . . .

After a rough day, I like to come home, slip into something comfortable and pour myself a glass of wine. (If I’m celebrating, it’s two, but since we’re talking about bad days, here I’ll get back to the topic at hand . . . )

I cook some dinner, though my hunger level usually dictates what’s being cooked. If I’m not super hungry (stress, surprisingly, doesn’t usually trigger “Oh-man-I’ve-gotta-eat-everything-in-sight”), I’ll linger over something more process oriented. For me, cooking is therapeutic. There’s nothing that makes me feel better than cooking — my shoulders relax, my neck de-tenses and I’m breathing slower, deeper (mostly because my face is hovering over a pot of yummy trying to savor the smells and fragrances of food).

After dinner, I climb into bed, burying myself further and further below my down comforter. (Seriously – if you have never owned a down comforter, you don’t know what you’re missing. I splurged on mine at Target after I graduated college (because I’d always wanted one) and I must confess . . . I will *never* own anything else again.)

My stress is melting away as I wrap my cloud around me and I turn on . . . something ridiculously funny. I hate going to bed upset, which is why my go-to on bad days is something that will lift me out of the funk. Here are some clips from favorite comedians.

Megan Mooney:

Jokes.com
Megan Mooney – Drinking Race
comedians.comedycentral.com
http://media.mtvnservices.com/mgid:cms:item:comedycentral.com:193893
Funny Jokes Funny Videos Daniel Tosh Stand-Up

Eddie Izzard:

Laughter is my ultimate stress relief. I honestly try to laugh every single day.

3 responses to “On my bad days . . .

  1. That’s nice that you relax and settle down by cooking. I’m the opposite; it makes me too stressed, but I’m working on it. And hell YES down comforters are amazing; I miss my old one dearly!

    • Glad you understand — I would probably run into a burning building for my down comforter. Okay, maybe not, but if it were only a small portion that was burning, I’d definitely think about it . . . 😉

  2. I’m sorta the same, I like to relax after a bad day. It’s great that you don’t go “eat-every-thing-in-site” too, that’s something a lot of people struggle with.

Leave a Reply

