Wired in

Story of my life, I think.

Do you ever feel like you spend too much time looking at a computer? Are your eyes pretty glazed over by the end of the day?

I work on the computer all day long. Lately, it seems like social media stuffs are taking over every ounce of time that I have. In between getting projects done at work, I’m spending a lot of time staring at twitter stats for the hospital, tracking down online analytics to see whether people are looking at the information we’re putting out there, talking about live tweeting or twitter strategy or Facebook contests or whatever . . .

Frankly, it’s all exhausting.

I heard someone comment on the radio last week that if you’re 18-24 and you’re still trying to figure out what to do with your life, look at becoming an optometrist. The idea there being that given how much time people spend glued to their computer monitors or staring at their smart phones, the number of people with glasses or contacts is only going to go up . . . and up . . . and up.

Since I’m not an optometrist or ophthamologist, I really don’t know if this is a true statement, but I can believe it. Lately, more than anything, I’ve just felt a little overwhelmed by technology, by learning and absorbing and implementing different ideas and strategies. It’s all a bit much.

I had three great post ideas for my blog this week and didn’t bother writing them because the idea of spending more time online was just too much for me to handle. I needed a break. I wanted to mentally check out. So I did.

And you know what? The world didn’t end. My site stats still tell me that people are checking in (thank you, you wonderful souls!). WordPress didn’t send me a nastygram email about “Why haven’t you checked in lately?” (Ahem! **Daily Mile** Ahem!) It was okay . . . and I felt good. Better, actually.

So even though the world continues to move faster and require us to wire in more and more, those mental breaks of stepping away from the computer, turning off the TV for a while, or stashing our iPhone in our purses to keep us from looking at it, it’s okay. It will *be* okay. Do not ever doubt the power of disengaging for a while, especially if it means a greater sense of wellness overall.

3 responses to “Wired in

  1. Great post! I feel like that a lot too — computer all day, checking stuff on my phone, TV at night, and sometimes internet at night, too. It’s exhausted and overloading, plus it’s been giving me such a headache. It is good to disconnect for awhile!

  2. I was just saying earlier today that I don’t consider myself needy, but sometimes I feel like being too plugged in is being needy. It’s a way to get attention and to not have to really be alone with your own thoughts. I definitely think our generation needs to unplug more. Like you said, the world doesn’t end when we do, and it can be SO. DAMN. REFRESHING.

  3. Pingback: Energy and holiday resolutions | well purposed: health, happiness, life

Leave a Reply

